Skip to content

Students highlight music talent

Musicians shine
student music highlight
Olds and District Music Teachers Association (ODMTA) scholarship recital winners (back row left to right) Tyler Kidd, Hannah Williams, Robyn Milne, Andrue Eli Kincade-Proctor, Juan-Pierre Hoffman, Anna Moffat, Lize-Marie Hoffman, Nathan Lodermeier, Haley Mackie, Ashlynn Mercier, Summer Murray. Front row (left to right): Aiden Rigor, Amelia Hoffman, Nash Murray, Mercedes Quantz, Nikolas Roy, Jesse Benkie, Slaite Clazie, Walter Jansen, Gordie Stuart.

OLDS - The Olds and District Music Teachers Association (ODMTA) held its annual scholarship recital on Nov. 22 at First Baptist Church in Olds.

Twenty-one students from Olds and surrounding communities performed a variety of piano, vocal and instrumental selections for an appreciative audience of more than 100 people.

At the conclusion of the recital, 18 scholarships were presented to those students who received the highest examination marks for the 2018-19 teaching year.

In addition, thanks to the generosity of our many local and area businesses, individuals and organizations, we were also able to award 13 additional honourable mention scholarships. This year, $3,000 was awarded to our students.

We are pleased to be able to give recognition and encouragement to these students and wish them much success in their continued music studies. Congratulations to each recipient.

ODMTA scholarship recipients are as follows:

• Piano: Amelia Hoffman (Preparatory B), Hannah Williams (Level 1), Nash Murray (Level 2), Robyn Milne (Level 10).

• Jean Rix Memorial Award: Evgeny Silivanyuk (Level 8 Piano), Rexelle Asis (Level 9 Piano).  

• Voice: Anna Moffat (Level 4), Lize-Marie Hoffman (Level 5), Brooke Jackson (Level 7), Allison Froese (Level 8).

• Instrumental: Mercedes Quantz (Level 1 Percussion), Nathan Lodermeier (Level 2 Percussion), Tyler Kidd (Level 3 Saxophone), Tyler Kidd (Level 4 Percussion), Aidan Rigor (Level 5 Saxophone).

• Theory and Pegagogy: Merrin Darby (Level 5 Theory), Juan-Pierre Hoffman (Level 6 Theory), Rexelle Asis (Level 9 Harmony).

• Honourable Mentions: Preparatory B Piano: Jesse Benkie. Level 1 Piano: Nikolas Roy. Level 2 Piano: Summer Murray. Level 8 Piano: Andrue Eli Kincade-Proctor. Level 1 Instrumental (Percussion): Gordie Stuart.  Level 2 Instrumental (Percussion): Slaite Clazie, Walter Jansen. Level 5 Theory: Haley Mackie, Ashlynn Mercier, Ivan Silivanyuk. Level 9 Harmony: Brooke C. C. Jackson, Evgeny Silivanyuk, Melissa Hiebert.


- Laura Crowe submitted tis column fot hr


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks