Skip to content

CP NewsAlert: Columbus Crew defeat Seattle Sounders, win 2020 MLS Cup

The Columbus Crew are 2020 MLS Cup champions after a 3-0 victory over the Seattle Sounders.

Lucas Zelarayan scored a pair of goals while Derrick Etienne added another to give the Crew their second-ever MLS Cup title. Columbus last won a title in 2008.

The Crew are led by president Tim Bezbatchenko, who had previously won an MLS Cup as general manager and vice-president of soccer operations for Toronto FC. He joined Columbus in January 2019.

Seattle entered this season as the reigning champion, having won in 2019 in a 3-1 victory over Toronto. 

More coming.

The Canadian Press