Skip to content

Water Valley Stampede Rodeo enjoys great competition

Good weather helped bring out “huge” Saturday crowd for the 68th annual Water Valley Stampede Rodeo
MVT-water valley stampede rodeo
Kole Dolgopol rides Cringe during the Water Valley rodeo. Submitted photo

WATER VALLEY — The 68th annual Water Valley Stampede Rodeo saw fans enjoy some top-rate competition, with rodeo athletes competing June 4 and 5 under good conditions, say officials.

About 150 contenders took part in this year’s rodeo, sponsored by the Water Valley Stampede Association.

“It was a great weekend,” said secretary Hilary Hahn.

“We had some really strong events. Junior steer riding was an extremely strong event this year. We also had a new association of wild horse racers called Western Klassic Wild Horse Racing Association. They are a First Nations-based association and we had a lot of fun watching them."

As for the turnout, she said, “We had a huge crowd on Saturday. Sunday was a little wet, not at the performance, but all around, so we had a bit of a smaller crowd. All around, we are happy with the number of people and families who came out to watch the rodeo.”

The wild cow milking event was won by Nick Bentley and Nick Harold of Longview.

The wild horse racing event was won by the Zac Good Eagle team from Indian Lake.

The tie-down roping event was won by Tyson Wright of Lethbridge with a time of 13.1 seconds.

The junior steer riding event was won by Nash Loewen of Winfield with a score of 77.

The steer wrestling event was won by Jerry Stojan of Sexsmith with a time of 16.2 seconds.

The saddle bronc event was won by Cody Albertson of Crossfield with a score of 67.

The junior breakaway roping event was won by Wiley Cumming of Viking with a time of 13.58 seconds.

The junior bull riding was won by Marshall Stenger of Meadow Lake and Cash Sidor of Edson, tied with a score of 64.

The ladies barrel racing event was won by Brandy Vogt of Cranbrook with a time of 16.359 seconds.

The junior barrel racing event was won by Ally Bueckert of Okotoks with a time of 16.882 seconds.

The Pee Wee barrel racing event was won by Lena Kronschnabl of Thorsby with a time of 17.112 seconds.

The team roping event was won by Tade Tonneson and Coyne Tonneson of Ponoka with a time of 6.8 seconds.

Dan Singleton

About the Author: Dan Singleton

Read more


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks