Skip to content

Six Olds Grizzlys players receive awards

One player from each of the Alberta Junior Hockey League’s 15 teams receives awards
MVT stock Olds Grizzlys logo

OLDS — Defenceman Hoon Kim is the latest Olds Grizzly player to receive an award.  

It was announced on May 26 that Kim had been named a member of the Alberta Junior Hockey League’s (AJHL) 2021 Inter Pipeline AJHL all-academic team. 

As with other AJHL awards announced this season, one player from each of the league’s 15 teams received the honour. 

“The 2021 Inter Pipeline AJHL all-academic team recognizes players regarded as having commendable dedication to their studies at either the high school or post-secondary level, along with a grade score reflective of their academic success,” an AJHL news release says. 

Five other Grizzlys have also received AJHL awards so far this year. 

Josh Zinger is team MVP, Noah Hackett is the top forward, Tristan Martin is the top goaltender and Kieran Raymond is the top defenceman.

Defenceman Tristan Baumung has received an Alberta Junior Hockey League Top Rookie award.

Baumung, 18, was among 15 rookies from teams across the league to receive the award, announced May 18.

The 6'1". 190-pound defenceman hails from Sundre.

He played in 14 games for the Grizzlys this year, scored one goal and picked up eight penalty minutes.