Skip to content

Didsbury scholarship winners showed community spirit

Three students each received $500 after Town of Didsbury council selected them from list

DIDSBURY — Three Didsbury High School students awarded Town of Didsbury’s 2021 High School Scholarships all showed enthusiasm and initiative in the community.

Amy Jean Black, Austin Cartwright and Brianne Lee each received $500 awards after council selected them from names submitted.

To be eligible for the award, each student must be a resident of Didsbury and be in his or her final year of high school.

The recipients must have been involved in extracurricular activities, shown enthusiasm and initiative, demonstrated involvement in voluntary community activities, and exhibited leadership qualities.

The selection was based on three principles: youth involvement in the community contributes to the success of the community; youth involvement will translate into future involvement and leadership in the community; and youth need to be encouraged and recognized for contributions to the community.

Council could have awarded the full $1,500 scholarship allocation to one student, but chose to select three instead in 2021.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks